Faculty and Staff position

The total number of sanctioned posts for Faculty members is 10 (ten). At present, there are 5 (Five) Associate Professor and 5 (Five) Assistant Professor.


The list of Present faculty members. Click here

Prof. Hare Krishna Gayan
was the founder Head of this Department, who was succeeded respectively by Prof. Hari Prasad Mahanta, Prof. Kumud Ch. Barua, Dr.(Ms.) Joymati Medhi and  Dr. Arun Kumar Borah. Prof. Hare Krishna Gayan left the Department in 1975 and later held the post of Director of Public Instructions, Govt. of Asssam. Prof. Hari Prasad Mahanta and Prof. (Dr.) Kiran Ch. Sarma were superannuated from their services in 1990 and 1991 respectively. In the year 1993, the premature demise of one of the faculty members, Dr. Nalin Ch. Baruah caused an irreparable loss to this Department in particular and the college in general. Dr. Amulya Ch. Mazumdar joined the Department of Geological Sciences, Gauhati University as Reader in the year 1995. Dr. Pabindra Nath Datta joined Diphu Govt. College as its Principal in 1996 (he subsequently retired from there). Prof. Kumud Ch. Barua and Dr. Sabha Ram Kalita went on retirement in the years 1997 and 1999 respectively. In 2002, Dr. (Ms.) Joymati Medhi became the Vice-Principal of Cotton College (subsequently she became the Principal of the college and got superannuated in 2003). DR. A.K. Borah was retired as Head of the Department in 2011. At present, Dr. Hemangi Sarma is the Head of the Department.

The list of Past faculty members. Click here

The number of posts for administrative and laboratory staff in the Department is 4 (four). The present staff position is as follows :

Office cun Laboratory Assistant - Vacant
Thin Section Maker – Vacant
Bearer – 3 (three)
Photo Gallery
Website Team

Cotton University Geology Departmnet © 2013 -14. All Rights Reserved Powerd by redpanchi